top of page
  • Writer's pictureIsabel Greene

Week 4 Work In Progress

PLS and Consent forms

Over the weekend I had been focusing on filling out the consent forms and plain language statement, related to my project. This was in preparation for sending out questionnaires and asking candidates for their participation in research collection.


Questionnaires and research questions

After reaching out to my former primary school principal and getting a positive response back and asking for further information on the project. I emailed my lecturer on to see what I had to put with email to send out surveys. She advised me that we needed to contact my college to enquire about ethical approval and that she would enquire on my behalf. In the mean time, my lecturer suggested that perhaps an easier way to navigate this situation would be through the use of a poll by the teachers of their class. Whilst I felt this was a good idea, I worried it would not give me extensive enough insight into my target audience as I would most likely have to ask less questions. After further discussion with both of my lecturers, I decided the best idea would be to contact the principal and see what she would be most comfortable with.


I sent back a response email to the principal giving a brief summary of the project and asking her what form she would like the research to take, using a questionnaire or using a poll that teachers would take. She responded that she would prefer to use questionnaires and recommended using Google Forms, as the school are using Google Classroom.


Throughout the week, I have been reviewing and updating the questions I had developed for my questionnaires. Primarily, I have been working on the questions relating to the child questionnaire. After a tutorial, one of my lecturers recommended that I simplify and reduce the number of questions given my target audience and their attention span. Today I sent over my questions to my lecturer and received feedback. So in the coming days, I will be continuing the refining of these questions and hope to send them out to fellow classmates for their opinions.


In exploration of my target audience research, I have also decided to interview my aunt who is a Primary school principal and teacher. My hope is that this will give me valuable insight into my target audience. I have contacted my aunt and we are planning on having a call at the end of next week to discuss my project.


Tone of Voice Moodboards

In creation of my tone of voice moodboards, I swayed slightly more towards showing projects similar to what I would prefer the output to be. I'm going to update the moodboard to have a stronger focus on personas and slightly more on tone of voice. During class on Wednesday, we were given the opportunity to get feedback on our moodboards in breakout rooms. The feedback I received was positive however they suggested that including a colour palette into the moodboard would bring more of a sense of my vision of the project.


Written Personas

Following on from my visual personas created last week, I have been developing written personas over the week. I have developed the content of these personas but I am still working on the visuals of how the personas will look.


Interim presentation

Next Wednesday, are Interim presentations where we have to present our current progress with our project and show the direction we are hoping to go in with them. In anticipation of this I will need to complete and update all current background information on my project.


In summary this week I will be working on:

Updating my tone of voice moodboard

Finishing the visuals of my written personas

Interim presentation creation

Draft interview questions

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page