top of page
  • Writer's pictureIsabel Greene

Week 3 Work in Progress

Visual Moodboards

Starting off from last week I selected the main images which I felt summed up my personas. I started creating a standard moodboard format however I felt that especially for the children's personas they were too ordered and did not reflect the mindset of my target audience. In lieu of this standard layout, I decided to create the moodboards in more organic layouts. With this in mind, I developed the girl's visual moodboard to look like the inside of a diary, and the boy's moodboard to look like a corkboard in a bedroom. The teacher's moodboard was created with a bit more of an organised layout but still included creative elements to represent her interests.

In creation of these, I also briefly interviewed my younger cousin who's age is within my target audience. I asked her a couple of questions about her interests and hobbies to make sure they aligned with the image I had of the interests of a section of my audience.


Personas

Feedback from presentation of my girl moodboard suggested that it may be slightly too young for the 12 year old age and that it may be beneficial to add in some more older elements e.g. makeup and pop culture, to reflect this older age. From these visual personas, I will next be creating written personas based on the visual personas and feedback.


Feedback and reflection

After discussion with one of my lecturers I have decided to narrow the age range of my target audience from 7-12, to 8-10. The differences between a 7 year and 12 year old are too vast in terms of reading level, personal development etc. Reflecting upon these changes, I don't think it's necessary to change my first moodboard as it still reflects a young girl within my new target audience, however I will be changing her age and background slightly.


Research questions

In class on Thursday, we reviewed research questions which had been developed last week. After discussion and feedback from my peers and one of my lecturers, I have been refining my questions. My teacher directed questioning will now focus more on getting the teacher's insights on what are the most effective methods or strategies of engaging children in learning about new topics. Overall for my questions I will be working on developing them further to remove any potential leading questions and add in some suggestions from feedback.


Reaching out to potential research participants

At the start of the week I reached out to my former primary school to see if they would be interested in participating in some research for the project. This morning (Friday) I received word back that they would be like to be involved. I aim to email them back with my finished questions on Monday, once I have refined the questions over the weekend.

In collection of this data I will have to be particularly cautious being as my main target group for research are children. This will include getting consent from their parents/ guardians etc. I will also being working on developing these forms over the weekend, in time to send them out with the questionnaires early next week.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page