top of page
  • Writer's pictureIsabel Greene

Week 6 Work In Progress

Interview

On Saturday evening I had an interview with my aunt to get her insight as a primary school principal and teacher. I found even though I spent a good portion of the day writing up questions that I ended up just going more off the cuff, based on the conversation and what I had wanted to find out from the interview. The interview was extremely insightful and I feel I have a much better overview of how children are taught Irish mythology in primary school. Over the week, I went through my recording of our interview and transcribed it. I also selected the main points from the interview and have been ruminating over them the past week.


Questionnaire

As I had a very busy Monday, I ended up sending out the consent form and links to my questionnaires on Tuesday to my former principal. As I had not heard back and gotten no responses from the questionnaire, I sent out a follow up email on Thursday afternoon. Shortly after, the principal informed me that students would not be back until the 3rd week of March. She recommended that she would put off sending out questionnaires until then if I didn't mind. I decided that it would be best to take her advice and wait until the children were back to school. In the meantime, I'm going to reach out to my aunt to see if she would be willing to send out questionnaires to her students.


SMP and Creative Approaches

This week I was focusing on selecting an appropriate single minded proposition and secondly exploring 3 different ideas for creative approaches for my output. After identifying the key word of my SMP, I worked on creating a piece of expressive type to communicate my project essence through type. Below are some of the iterations before I got to the final version shown here on the right.

For my creative approaches I developed 3 different varieties. The safe approach is an illustrated story of one of the myths. The risky and creative approach is an Irish mythology based board game. This would feature mythology based character and item pieces. For the fantastical, imaginative approach I had two ideas. The first is a complete illustrated encyclopedia of Irish mythological characters and objects. The second is a nation wide collector card game showcasing the Irish mythological characters (similar to Match Attax). At the minute my favourite option is the board game as it seems the most fun and engaging for my target audience. However, I'm going to work on all approaches equally for the next week and see which one(s) have the best scope.


Illustration Style Iterations

While waiting to get results back from my primary research, I've started working on developing the visual style of my project. Today I started working on thumbnails and I plan to explore my style more by drawing some portraits of myself and my housemates.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page