top of page
  • Writer's pictureIsabel Greene

Typography Review

After last week's typography class, I thought it would be a good idea to start looking at potential typeface(s) for my project. For my project, I will obviously be trying to select a typeface which will communicate with my target audience whilst also connecting the Irish background. With this in mind the following review will be focused on typefaces created by Irish designers and also what I'm calling 'Irish style' typefaces. The following are a selection of typefaces which I have found under this category.


Irish Penny

Irish Penny is a typeface based on Percy Metcalfe’s coinage design, the Barnyard Collection. Even though the typeface is based off lettering from 1926 the typeface gives off a modern feel and comes off as very soft and friendly. These are characteristics which I hope to include to align with my project. I wonder however that this particular type is not quite the fit for my project as it possibly leans a bit more mature than is my aim.


ED Black Orchid

ED Black Orchid is a typeface which I find particularly striking. Although the typeface has a blackletter weight, it has an organic movement and fluidity that shows elements of Irish type. However, the typeface is only available in all uppercase, this is something that will not suit my project. I don't know for certain what the title will be for my game yet however I do know that an all caps title would be too formal for the style of my project.


Erin

I included the Erin typeface as it is an example of a typeface that I would like to stay away from. Whilst I think it has it's place in Irish type, I don't think that it is the style I would like to go towards for this project. This typeface has more of a classical old Irish feel than I am going for and feel it would come off as too serious for my preferred project aesthetic.


Kingthings Kelltika

Kingthings Kelltika is a typeface created by Kevin King. This typeface is reminiscent of the decorative drop cap, and is inspired by letterforms from the Book of Kells. The typeface employs a number of more modern inclusions such as decorative stars included in the capitals. This typeface may be overkill if used in it's full decorative case but I think that it could potentially be effective if used sparingly.


Pagan Whiskey

Pagan Whiskey is a charming sans serif typeface created by the McLetters type foundry. The typeface has a strong sense of Irishness to it but is not overwhelming in it's message. This could work as a potential typeface for my project as it is not overpowering. For my project style I prefer something more subtle and less overpowering, as I hope for the visuals to carry most of the weight.


The Gaeilge Kids

The Gaeilge Kids is a modern sans serif created by Chequered Ink. The typeface has quirky and fun elements and would definitely be well suited to communicating to my target audience. Whilst I think this typeface is going in the right direction, I feel that for my project this type may be slightly too informal. In the search for my perfect typeface I will also be looking towards a typeface with a lower x-height for the smaller characters of a typeface.


Typography in Use

In my typography research, I also decided to look at typefaces used by other Irish games. A game that I noticed was coming up a lot was the board game Irish Gauge by Capstone Games. The game type on the front of the box is a simple bold sans serif. The game doesn't rely on the typeface to carry across the game's Irish theme and instead lets the visuals and content convey the theme.


Over the course of my typography review, it has occurred to me that if my game output content is going to be so solidly rooted in Irish mythology and culture, it may not be necessary to include a typeface that is very visually Irish looking. My visuals for the output will all show strong use of Irish mythology and considering my aim was to modernise how Irish children are shown Irish mythology it might make more sense to go with a more modern typeface.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page