top of page
  • Writer's pictureIsabel Greene

Colour Exploration

After deciding that I would move forward with the card game as my output, it became time to start designing the deck. With a template set up for the cards I decided I would take a look at colour palettes. In replacing the suits in the card deck with colour coding I knew I wanted to develop a colour palette where the colours would be distinct from each other to avoid confusion in game play but to also show a consistent visual style. This is important as the colours will not just be for visual effect but are also now a part of the mechanics of the deck. These are a few of the palettes that I created in this development process.


In creating these palettes, to start I just picked vibrant colours which I thought would work well together and convey a fun aesthetic. From there I decided I would take to Pinterest to research some illustrations and artwork whos colours I thought worked well and were cohesive and engaging. From the artwork colours I then went on to expand and develop these palettes further, as can be seen below.


From this list of palettes I have isolated 5 which I think have the most promise and convey the fun vibe of my project. I then displayed these beside each other as if in a deck, this is in order to see how the colours work together but also to check if the colours are distinct enough to convey their purpose. I personally think that the 3 palettes shown here on the right are the most successful for this criteria.


With the colour palette I want to appeal to my target audience by developing a bright and colourful theme. However I am still wanting to include a subtle Irish tone. Whilst I am looking to modernise the way that Irish children learn about Irish mythology, I am wary of going too modern and losing the essence of Irishness in my project. This is something I am going to be wary of in palette creation. I am going to reach out to my peers for their feedback on this to get their feedback before I move on further.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page