top of page
  • Writer's pictureIsabel Greene

Colour Choices for Card Backgrounds

After playing around with opacities on my last background designs I finally settled on the right percentage and it was time to start testing colour palettes.


After a lot of colour palette exploration which I developed earlier (shown above) I had temporarily chosen the following colour palette. However, after applying it to the cards all colours except the green felt a bit too vibrant and took focus away from the character.


At this point I decided to return to the colour palette library I had created and see what they looked like applied to the cards. This took a lot of trial and error. The first palette you see below (red, pink, teal, green), I really liked how the colours went together, but I felt that they leaned more feminine on a whole than I would like. I wanted to make sure that whicever palette I created it was as gender neutral as possible so that viewers would only focus on the story and not be dissuaded from playing because it looked too girly or boyish. The second palette (dark blue, teal, red, green) was definitely closer and worked well together but again I felt that the red and dark blue cards overpowered the characters.


I finally landed on this colour palette which is the final. It covers all of the different aspects I was trying to achieve and the inclusion of the green and orange bring that link to the Irish background which I was wanting.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page